rvv

Restaurant Vegan Guide

A vegan diet is exciting!  By removing animals from your plate, you open up room for delicious and more healthful options. Most recipes that call for animals or animal byproducts can easily be made vegan.  

WHAT VEGANS EAT:

Vegans enjoy all kinds of foods, such as curries, pizza, casseroles, burritos, chocolate cake, lasagna, soups, risottos, spicy bean chili, stir fries, falafel, cupcakes, samosas, pies, stews, paella, dhal, quiche, pancakes, cookies, pad thai, shortbread, spring rolls, panini, spaghetti bolognese, sushi, and the list goes on! All of these dishes and many more can be suitable for vegans, made using entirely plant-based ingredients and no ingredients derived from animals.

WHAT VEGANS DON’T EAT:

A vegan diet is one that consists of only plant-derived foods.  Vegans don’t use or consume any animals or animal products including flesh (land or sea animals), milk, eggs, or honey.  Examples of some common specific ingredients include: chicken or beef broth, fish sauce, gelatin, dairy, (this includes secretion from any animal, casein, a milk derivative even found in some soy cheeses), whey, anchovy, cochineal/carmine (dried bodies of scale insects often used as food coloring), lanolin, lard and more.  You get the picture!

Common examples of seemingly inert ingredients that restaurants overlook that vegans DO NOT eat. These are examples to help increase consciousness when preparing vegan dishes:

  • MEXICAN: Lard in beans and tortillas, bacon in beans, chicken stock in Spanish rice, gelatin or sour cream in guacamole.
  • ASIAN: Fish and oyster sauce (though there is a vegan version of oyster sauce), Bonita flakes, chicken or beef stock
  • CHINESE: Chicken stock in sauces
  • ITALIAN: Eggs in pasta and breads, meat in marinara
  • INDIAN: Ghee
  • GENERAL: Eggs, butter and honey in breads, chicken stock, beef stock, milk and cream in soups sauces and gravies, cheese in any form including Parmesan or shredded cheese as an adornment, casien or whey in vegetarian cheeses.

SUBSTITUTES FOR ANIMALS AND ANIMAL BY-PRODUCTS IN FOOD:

A common response to those interested in going vegan is, “but what will I eat?”  This question reaffirms how conditioned we are to believe animal sources are needed in the diet and this is reinforced by the industries who profit from them. They are lying to us and it is wreaking havoc on our health and our planet. A long time marketing strategy of these industries has been to convince people they need meat and dairy in their diets in order to be healthy.  This is not only a myth, but is responsible for kidney problems, heart disease, diabetes and even cancer.  Learn more here.

There are countless substitutions for every animal ingredient that are more healthful and just as tasty.  In fact, you can veganize most recipes and not even detect a taste difference!  PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR A FOOD RESOURCE GUIDE OF COMPANIES WHO MAKE VEGAN FOOD AND VEGAN FOOD ITEMS SUCH AS CONDIMENTS, EGG REPLACERS, ETC.